Personal Data Retention Times

You can define how long conversations and Outbound campaigns are stored in the system in System Management > Personal Data Retention Times. After the retention time, all data is anonymized or deleted.

For cloud customers these settings are configured by Sinch.

To use automatic data removal:
  1. Select the checkbox Enable Automatic Data Removal.
  2. In Automatic Data Removal Start Date, define the date after which saved data is to be removed. If no date is defined, no data is removed.
  3. Define retention times separately for calls, e-mails, chats and Outbound campaigns. If no retention time is defined, no data is removed.

    For example, if you have selected the checbox Enable Automatic Data Removal, defined the Automatic Data Removal After to be 1.1.2018, and Retention Time for Calls to be 1 year, the data removal starts on 1.1.2019.

Retention times apply to all data except for directory and consent data, which are only removed on request. Outbound Campaigns are removed when their retention time has expired and they either have reached their end date or have been completed (Dialer Status COMPLETED).

For more information about data deletion, anonymizing, blocking and other personal data protection issues, see the Security Guide section Deletion of Personal Data.

Example 1: Changing the removal start date

You have data from 2014 onwards and the following settings defined:

With this configuration calls were being removed starting from 1.1.2017. You change the removal to start 1.1.2014. Calls between 2014-2016 are not removed because the removal continues from the last processed date.

Example 2: Changing retention time

You have the following retention time defined:

You change the retention time to 5 years on 30.12.2020. Emails that have arrived before this date are stored according to the previous setting (1 year). Only emails arriving after the setting change are stored for 5 years.

To define data retention time for a queue, see Defining Data Retention Time for Queue.